What is The Texas Teen Driver Education Online Course?
The Texas Teen Driver Education is a 32-hour course that teens 14-17 years old complete to qualify for a learner license.
The course may be taken online or in a classroom. The course is regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and
Regulation (TDLR). The TDLR licenses private schools to offer the course.
Teens register and take the course through one of these approved schools.
The course covers traffic laws and techniques for driving safely on Texas roads. The specific topics are regulated by
the TDLR and include:
- Rules of the Road
- Distracted Driving
- Driving Emergencies
- Protecting Yourself While Driving
- Driving in All Seasons
- Adult and Child Safety Equipment
- Impaired Driving
- Driving Behaviors
- Recent Trends in Driving
- Best Practices and Procedures
Teens must also complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training. This training can be done with a professional driving instructor
or a qualified adult. The 44 hours is divided into the following parts:
- 7 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction;
- 7 hours of behind-the-wheel observation;
- 10 hours of night-time driving;
- 20 hours of additional practice;
A certificate is issued when a teen completes the first six hours. This certificate can be used to obtain a learner license. The learner
license allows a teen to begin practice driving. A second certificate is issued upon completing the course. This certificate is
submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety to obtain a driver license.
Safe2Drive's Texas Teen Driver Education Course
It's time to get your Texas driver license! We know you can't wait to have the keys handed over to you, and we've
worked hard to make the driver education process easy for you! Our online Texas Teen Driver Education course is the most
convenient way to earn your learner license. All of the instruction is completed online, which means you can study anywhere--
at home, between classes, or at your favorite coffee shop. Taking your course online also means you can work toward your license
whenever is best for you. If you're a night owl, you can stay up late chipping away at your course. Or, you can complete lessons
while you eat breakfast--you make the schedule!
We've broken the course down into simple lessons that are fun to complete. You'll play games, watch videos, interact with animations,
and check out slideshows. After you complete the first 6 hours of the course, you qualify for your learner license! And the best part is,
you can take your Knowledge Test online with us instead of at the DPS. That means you can save time when you go to apply for your
Texas learner permit. How cool is that?
If you have questions at any point during the course, our
friendly and helpful Customer Care team is here to assist you 7 days a week. We are here to help you out every step of the way.
We've made it our mission to provide the best course experience possible. It's important to us that you both enjoy your course and feel ready to get behind the wheel. Our Texas Teen
Driver Education course will teach you everything you need to know to be a great driver. So let's get started!
A Quick Guide to Getting a Driver License in Texas
Eligibility Requirements for Teens
The only eligibility requirement to begin a Texas Teen Driver Education course is you must be at least 14 years old.
If you are eligible, you're ready to get started!
Step 1: Register for Your Driver Education Course
Signing up is easy! All you have to do is click the Register Now button and we will guide you through all of the steps to set
up an account and begin the course.
Step 2: Complete the First 6 Hours of the Course
Texas rules require Teen Driver Education courses to be 32 hours in length. However, you only need to complete the first 6 hours
of your course to qualify for your learner license! Once you've finished Lesson 6 of the course, you can apply to get your Texas learner permit.
We email you your 6-Hour Certificate of Completion for FREE immediately after you complete the first six hours of instruction.
Step 3: Get Your Texas Learner License
The next step in the process is to pass the Knowledge Test. With Safe2Drive, you can take the Knowledge Test online,
instead of at the DPS office! Once you pass the test, you and your parent/guardian can go to the nearest DPS office and you
can apply for your learner license. Once you have your learner license, you are able to start the behind-the-wheel training!
Step 4: Finish Your Teen Driver Education Course
Now, you need to complete the remaining 26 hours of online instruction. Once you have successfully completed the Texas Teen Driver Education course,
we immediately email you your Certificate of Completion for FREE. At this point, you will also need to complete the required 44 hours
of behind-the-wheel training (14 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and 30 hours of driving practice). You will need to transfer
your course hours to either a commercial driver education school or to your parent so that you can begin behind-the-wheel training. You can check out our driving school partner for behind-the-wheel courses.
Step 5: Complete the Free ITTD Course
As per Texas law, you must complete their Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) course as a step toward getting a driver license. It's a free online
course, and you are required to complete it and receive a Certificate of Completion. Hang on to this certificate--you will need it when applying for a Texas driver license.
Step 6: Get Your Driver License!
In order to get a Texas driver license, you will need to complete the steps above, be at least 16 years old, have resided in Texas for at least 30 days prior to applying for a driver license, and have held your learner license for 6 months. Then, you will simply need to gather the required documents and head to the DPS Driver License Office with a parent/legal guardian to take the driving exam.
The documents you need to bring with you to the DPS are the following:
- Proof of identity
- Identification documents
- Social Security Card or other acceptable evidence of a Social Security Number
- Proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence
- Proof of Texas residency
- Completed Application DL-14A
- Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form (this must be completed and signed by a school official) or your high school diploma or GED
- Proof of financial responsibility for each vehicle you own or a statement that you do not own a vehicle. You must have at least the minimum amount of coverage required for your vehicle.
- Valid motor vehicle registration in Texas for each vehicle you own or a statement that you do not own a vehicle
- Certificate of Completion (DE-964) from your Teen Driver Education course
- ITTD Certificate of Completion
- Effective September 1, 2015, individuals taking a Texas teen driver education course are required to complete the ITTD requirement before they will be eligible to take the driving skills exam.
At the Texas Driver License Office, you will pay the required fee and pass the driving skills exam (you will need to pass this exam within 90 days of the date on your ITTD Certificate of Completion).
Once you pass the driving skills exam, you will be issued a provisional Texas driver license!
At Safe2Drive, we understand that you're eager to get your driver license. We're just as excited to help you on your journey to get behind the wheel.
That's why we make signing up for and taking your course a breeze. We believe a driver education course should be comprehensive and entertaining, and our Teen Driver Education
course delivers on those promises. If you ever do need assistance with your course, we have a friendly Customer Care team available 7 days a week to help you out.
Our awesome features, like the option to take your Knowledge Test online and our interactive course elements, are what set us apart.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today and get on your way toward receiving a driver license!