What is the Texas Adult Driver Education Program?
Texas Adult Driver Education is a six-hour course that residents 18-24 years old must complete to qualify for a driver license.
The course may be taken online or in a classroom. It is regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). The
TDLR licenses private schools to offer the course. Residents register and take the course through one of these approved schools.
The course covers traffic laws and techniques for driving safely on Texas roads. The specific topics are regulated by
the TDLR and include:
- Rules of the Road
- Distracted Driving
- Driving Emergencies
- Protecting Yourself While Driving
- Driving in All Seasons
- Adult and Child Safety Equipment
- Impaired Driving
- Driving Behaviors
- Recent Trends in Driving
- Best Practices and Procedures
A Certificate of Completion is issued upon finishing the course. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires this
certificate as part of the collection of documents it uses to issue a license.
A resident must be at least 18 years old to be eligible for Texas Adult Driver Education. The course is required for Texas residents between the ages of
18 and 24 who want to get a driver license, but adults 25 and over are welcome to take the course too.
In addition, the following documents must be provided to verify eligibility:
- Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Presence
- Proof of Texas Residency
- Proof of Identity
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Texas Vehicle Registration (if applicable)
- Proof of Automobile Insurance (if applicable)
Additional information on these documents is provided below.
Safe2Drive's Texas Adult Driver Education
Safe2Drive's course is 6 hours in length and divided into ten lessons. Each lesson includes animations, slideshows, videos, and interactive games.
A short quiz is administered at the end of each lesson to help you retain what you learn. You pass each quiz
to proceed to the next lesson. The DPS Knowledge Test is administered after you complete all lessons and quizzes. This Knowledge Test
allows you to skip the Knowledge Test at the DPS Office. We will immediately email you a Certificate of Completion upon passing
the Knowledge Test. The Certificate of Completion is FREE! When you receive your Certificate of Completion, you will be able to apply for your Texas driver license.
Please note that this course is for individuals over the age of 18. If you are a teen between the ages of 14 and 17 who wants to get a driver license, you will need to register for either a
Texas Parent Taught Driver
Education course or a Teen (AMI) Driver Education course.
Completing Safe2Drive's Texas Adult Driver Education
Our course can be completed in four easy steps:
- Register and Pay
- Complete the Lessons and Quizzes
- Pass the Online DPS Knowledge Test
- Get Your Certificate of Completion
Step 1: Register and Pay
Signing up is easy! Just click the Register Now button and we will guide you through all of the steps to set up your account.
Step 2: Complete the Lessons and Quizzes
Our course consists of short lessons full of videos, games and animations. The course is only 6 hours long--the shortest time allowed by law. After each lesson is a
short, multiple-choice quiz. You must pass the quiz to proceed to the next lesson. You may retake the lesson quizzes until you pass if you need to.
Step 3: Pass the Online DPS Knowledge Exam
With Safe2Drive, you can take your DPS Exam online! The exam is made up of 30 multiple-choice questions, and you must score at least 70% to pass. However, you have 3 chances to pass the exam!
Step 4: Get Your Certificate of Completion
Once you've passed the exam, we will immediately email you a Certificate of Completion.
A Quick Guide to Getting Your License
The Texas Adult Driver Education is just one thing you must do to get a license. There are several more.
Here is a handy checklist of things you must do to get your driver license if you are 18-24 years old:
- Gather up your documents.
- Watch the Impact Texas Adult Drivers (ITAD) video.
- Complete the adult driver education course.
- Schedule an appointment at the DPS.
Step 1: Gather Up Your Documents
The Texas DPS takes special interest in ensuring the validity of the information that is provided for a driver license.
These steps are taken to reduce fraud and enhance the security of Texas residents. With this in mind, the DPS utilizes a nationally
recognized DL and ID issuance process, which involves verifying your identity, Texas residency,
and U.S. Citizenship or lawful presence (the legal authorization to reside in this country).
U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Presence
An applicant for a license must have proof of being a U.S. citizen, a lawful permanent resident (immigrant), refugee, asylee, or non-immigrant.
Most documents will be verified through the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s SAVE Program. Verification is
often instantaneous --- but not always. Delays up to 30 days may occur.
An applicant must provide documents to prove he or she has lived in Texas for at least 30 days. If surrendering a valid driver license
from another state, proof of residency is still required but the 30-day requirement is waived. Simply provide two documents
that contain the same name and Texas residential address. Valid documents include such things as utility bills, W2 or 1099 statements,
medical bills, and bank statements.
A number of documents can be used to establish identity, and they are categorized into three types:
- Primary Documents;
- Secondary Documents;
- Supporting Documents;
The easiest way to show proof of identity is by producing a single primary document. Primary documents are, for example, Texas photo IDs, a passport, or a
military photo id. These documents must contain the applicant's full name and date of birth. All documents must be
verifiable. Documents must be original or a copy certified by the issuing agency. No photocopies are accepted.
Another way to show proof is by producing two secondary documents. Secondary documents are items such as a birth certificate, a birth-abroad certificate, or
a court order for a name or gender change.
A third way is to show one secondary document and two supporting documents. Supporting documents are items such as an out-of-state ID, W-2 or 1099 forms,
voter registration card, or an insurance policy.
A complete list of valid documents can be found on the Texas DPS web site.
Social Security Number
Examples of documents to verify an SSN include:
- Social Security Card
- SSA-1099 Form
- A non-SSA-1099 form
- Pay stub with the applicant’s name and SS
Texas Vehicle Registration (if applicable)
Evidence of registration for each vehicle an applicant owns must be provided. An affidavit must be signed if not vehicle is owned.
Proof of automobile insurance must be provided if the applicant owns a vehicle.
Step 2: Complete the Impact Texas Adult Drivers (ITAD) course.
Applicants for a license are required to take the Impact Texas Adult Drivers (ITAD) course and receive a completion certificate before taking the driving test.
The ITAD course is a free one-hour video course developed by the DPS that explains the dangers of distracted driving.
When you complete the ITAD course, you will be emailed a completion certificate. You must print the certificate and
submit a paper copy to the driver license office when you take your driving test. The ITAD certificate is only valid for 90 days.
If you do not pass the driving skills exam within 90 days of the date on your certificate, you must restart the ITAD program.
Step 3: Complete Texas Adult Driver Education
You must complete the Texas Adult Driver Education course.
Step 4: Apply for Your Driver License
The final step is to apply for your driver license! Schedule an appointment with your nearest DPS Driver License Office and take along
your documents and completion certificates. You will be required to pass a vision exam and driving test. If you pass everything, you will be awarded
a Texas driver license! Congratulations!
Texas Adult Driver Education Versus Texas Defensive Driving
The Texas Adult Driver Education course is targeted to residents ages18 through 24 who are seeking a license. The Texas Defensive Driving course
is a separate 6-hour course targeted to drivers with an existing license who are seeking to get a ticket dismissed or obtain an automobile
insurance discount. The defensive driving course cannot be taken as a substitute for the driver education course. They serve two
Safe2Drive courses can be summed up in 3 words: high-quality, convenient, and affordable. We work hard to constantly
improve our Texas Adult Driver Education course. Because the course can be completed online, it is easily accessible and you get to decide when you work on it!
But you're not alone--our exceptional Customer Care team is available to you 7 days a week by phone or email.
So what are you waiting for? Sign up now and get started with your Texas Adult Driver's Ed course!
Back to Top