How to Handle a Texas Traffic Ticket

Request Defensive Driving Course

If you got a ticket in the State of Texas, you have a few options when it comes to handling it. You can:

  1. Admit guilt for the violation and pay the fine.
  2. Fight the ticket in court.
  3. Plead guilty or no contest and request to take a Texas defensive driving course to have your ticket dismissed.

Typically, your best bet is to opt to take a driving course (and even better—an online driving course!). This way you can dismiss your ticket and avoid having points added to your driver record. And the cleaner your driver record, the better—your auto insurance premium will be lower, and you won’t risk possible license suspension. Plus, your Texas defensive driving course will provide you with a great refresher course so you can avoid tickets in the future!

Keep in mind that in Texas, ticket dismissal varies from county to county and court to court. Below are the general requirements and restrictions.

Steps to Dismiss Your Texas Traffic Ticket

  • You must have a non-commercial driver license.
  • You must admit guilt or plead no contest.
  • The citation must be for driving within 25 miles per hour of the posted limit.
  • Your citation does not involve an infraction in a construction zone.
  • Your court must give you permission to take a certified defensive driving course.

Please speak with someone in your court/county for more specific information.

How to take a Defensive Driving Course

If you received a traffic violation that is eligible to be dismissed by taking a defensive driving course, follow these easy step to get your ticket dismissed:

  1. Check to see if your violation is eligible for ticket dismissal.
  2. Request permission to take a defensive drive course from your court.
  3. Submit required forms to the court.
  4. Pay required fees.
  5. Sign up for an online defensive driving course.
  6. Complete the course.
  7. Submit your Certificate of Completion to your court.

Requirements to Request a Texas Defensive Driving Course:

  • Request permission from the court to take traffic school in Texas with a letter pleading "No Contest".
  • Submit required forms and affidavits to the court.
  • Copy of Texas driver license.
  • Copy of Texas driver record.
  • Copy of proof of insurance (e.g., your insurance card).
  • Pay a required court fee – dependent on county, court, or infraction.
  • Copy of citation or traffic ticket.

Defensive Driving Course Restrictions:

  • You cannot be currently taking Texas traffic school or have taken it in the last 12 months.
  • You cannot have a Commercial Driver License (CDL).
  • You must have a Texas driver license and appropriate auto insurance.

You are ineligible to take a defensive driving course in Texas if your citation is for:

  • Speeding more than 25 mph above the posted limit.
  • Passing a school bus.
  • Failure to stop or provide information after an accident.
  • Travelling over 95 mph.
  • A violation in a construction zone with workers present.

If you are eligible to complete a defensive driving course in Texas and you have received permission from your court/county, be sure to take advantage of it! Safe2Drive’s online Texas defensive driving course is the perfect solution: it’s approved by the Texas TDLR, it’s convenient, and it’s affordable.

Click here to find your Court's website.

Have more specific questions? Feel free to contact us! We offer Customer Support 7 days a week.


Dismissing a Texas Traffic Ticket FAQs

How long does a Texas traffic violation ticket stay on my record?

If you are convicted of a traffic violation, the points associated with that violation will be added to your Texas driver record and they'll remain there for 3 years from the date of your conviction. Point assessment on your record could result in higher insurance rates.

How many points are credited to your driving record for taking a defensive driving course?

In Texas, if you take a defensive driving class you can completely eliminate the points from a moving violation.

What is the best online defensive driving course in Texas?

Safe2Drive offers the lowest price & shortest defensive driving course approved by the TDLR. Our interactive lessons with built-in final exam are backed by our award-winning customer service team.

What is the fastest Texas Defensive Driving course?

Safe2Drive's Texas Defensive Driving course is 6 hours in length, the fastest course approved by the TDLR.

What is the cheapest Texas Defensive Driving course?

Safe2Drive's Texas Defensive Driving course is $25.00, the lowest price allowed by the TDLR.