California Driver Education Online
Why Should I Take This Course?
Our online California Driver Education online course is designed for teens between the ages of 15½ and 17½ who want to get their driver license. However, you may take CA Driver's Ed if you are over 17½ and want to brush up on your driving knowledge, too! Please note, though,
that if you are age 18 or older, you will not receive a Certificate of Completion (DL 400C). Instead, we will email you a Receipt of Completion that you may keep for your records.
How Does It Work?
We make your online driver education experience simple! There are just a few steps to take in order to get your Certificate of Completion:
- Register for the course.
- Complete the course.
- Pass the exam.
- Complete the course evaluation.
- Get your Certificate of Completion or your Receipt of Completion.
It's as easy as that! Our helpful Customer Care team is here to answer any questions you may have.
After you have completed driver education, you can apply for your instruction permit.
How Do I Get My California Driver License?
If you’re between the ages of 15½ and 17½, the first step towards earning your driver license is to take a DMV-licensed 30-hour California Driver Education course and earn a Certificate of Completion (DL 400C). This self-paced course satisfies that requirement. Once you complete your online CA Driver Education course, you must pass a knowledge test on traffic laws and traffic signs, which you will take at the DMV. Our course provides you with unlimited practice tests to help prepare you for this knowledge test.
After you complete driver education and pass the knowledge test, you will get your instruction permit. You must hold your instruction permit for 6 months and be at least 16 years old before you can apply for your driver license in California. In addition, you are required to have completed 6 hours of driver training with a professional driver training school (if you’re under 17½ years old) and 50 hours of driving practice with a licensed adult who is 25 years of age or older. At least 10 of the 50 driving practice hours must be done at night. Once you meet these requirements, you must pass a driving test to earn your driver license.
We're confident that our California Driver Education course will thoroughly prepare you to get out on the road!