Our friendly Customer Support team is here 7 days a week to answer any questions you may have via phone, email or Live Chat. We're here to help!

19+ years in business
  • Overview
  • FAQs

Drivers of any age can take our online Missouri Driver Education course to prepare for their written and road sign recognition tests or to improve their knowledge of traffic laws. Plus, learn everything you need to know to be a safe, defensive driver!

  • Our course is packed with animations, games and videos to make learning fun and engaging.
  • Take your course on any device--mobile, tablet or desktop!
  • Complete the course at your own pace and on your own schedule.
  • We'll email you your FREE Certificate of Completion as soon as you pass the final exam.
  • Our helpful customer support team is available 7 days a week - we're here if you need us!

Register Now

What is the Missouri Driver Education course?

The Missouri Driver Education course is an online course that will teach you everything a first-time driver needs to know to be safe and competent on the roadway. We cover the following topics and much, much more:

  • Defensive driving techniques
  • Traffic laws
  • What traffic signs, signals, and pavement markings mean
  • Who has the right-of-way in different traffic scenarios
  • How to accurately assess risks on the roadway
  • How to share the road with other roadway users
  • How alcohol and drugs affect driving skills

Our online course is full of videos and games to make the learning experience fun and interactive and to help you retain the information. Our Missouri Driver Education course is also a great way to prepare for your written and road sign recognition tests.

When you complete our course, we'll email you your Certificate of Completion, free of charge.


A Quick Guide to Getting Your Missouri Driver License If You're Under Age 18

Missouri follows a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program for young drivers. Young drivers are disproportionately represented in traffic collisions and fatalities. GDL programs aim to decrease young drivers' risk by implementing different phases of licensing with different requirements and restrictions. Basically, as drivers get older and gain more experience behind the wheel, they're allowed more driving privileges. There are 3 stages to Missouri's GDL program: instruction permit, intermediate license and full driver license.

Stage One: Get Your Instruction Permit.

You must be at least 15 years old to apply for your instruction permit. You must also pass a vision exam, a road sign recognition test, and a written test at an examination station. A qualified person must accompany you to the license office to sign a permission statement. A qualified person is a parent, legal guardian, or a certified trainer with a federal residential job training program with a valid driver license.

Once you get your instruction permit, if you're under age 16, you may only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is one of the following:

  • A qualified person (i.e., a parent, legal guardian, or a certified trainer with a federal residential job training program)
  • A grandparent
  • A qualified driving instructor (i.e., an instructor who has a valid driver education endorsement on a teaching certificate issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, or a driver training instructor employed by a private driver education program)
  • A qualified driver at least 25 years of age who has been licensed for a minimum of 3 years and has received written permission from the parent or legal guardian
  • A qualified driver designated by the disabled parent or guardian of the permit holder

Once you reach age 16, you may drive when accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license.

Keep in mind that seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers while you are driving. You must carry your permit with you at all times while driving.

Your instruction permit is valid for up to 12 months. You may renew it if you need to.

Stage Two: Get Your Intermediate License.

To qualify for your intermediate license, you must be between ages 16 to 18 and meet the following requirements:

  • Hold your instruction permit for at least 182 days (beginning the day after issuance).
  • NOT have any alcohol-related offenses in the last 12 months and no traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
  • Have received 40 hours of driving instruction, including a minimum of 10 hours of nighttime driving instruction between sunset and sunrise, with a qualified person, grandparent, or qualified driving instructor.

Your qualified person or grandparent must accompany you to the license office to verify that you have completed the required number of hours of driving instruction.

If your vision, road sign recognition and written test are more than a year old, you will need to take and pass those tests again.

Finally, you must pass a driving test.

When you have your intermediate license, you may drive on your own. However, there are some restrictions:

  • During the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger who is under 19 years old and who is not a member of your immediate family. Your immediate family includes your parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters, and adopted or foster children residing in your household.
  • After the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than three passengers who are under 19 years old and who are not members of your immediate family.
  • You may not drive alone from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. except to and from a school activity, job, or for an emergency, unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years old or older.

These restrictions might not apply to those operating in agricultural work-related activities.

Keep in mind that while you're driving, seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers, and you must have your intermediate license with you.

Your intermediate license is valid for up to two years.

Stage Three: Get Your Full Driver License.

To qualify for your full driver license, you must be at least age 18, or within 30 days of your 18th birthday, and you must meet the following requirements:

  • You must satisfy the requirements for an intermediate license, including having no alcohol-related offenses or traffic convictions in the last 12 months.
  • You must have a valid intermediate license. Your driving privilege cannot be suspended, revoked, or denied when you apply for a full license.

Your driver license will expire on your birthday in the third year after the date it was issued.


How to Get Your Driver License If You're Age 18 or Older

To qualify for your driver license if you're age 18 or older, you must present the required documents (which include proof of lawful status, identity, social security number, Missouri residency and mailing address). Accepted documents differ depending on whether you're getting a Real ID or a Non-Real ID.

You must also pass a vision test, a road sign recognition test, a written test and a road test.

Drivers who are 21 to 69 years of age receive a 6-year driver license that expires on the applicant's date of birth in the sixth year after the date of issuance. Drivers who are ages 70 and over receive a 3-year driver license that expires on the applicant's date of birth in the third year after date of issuance.


Why Choose Safe2Drive?

Safe2Drive's online Missouri Driver Education course can be summed up in 3 words: high-quality, convenient, and affordable. Because our course can be completed online, it is easily accessible and you get to decide when you work on it! But you're not alone--our exceptional Customer Care team is available to you 7 days a week by phone, email, or Live Chat. We're here to help if you have any questions! We also have a low-price guarantee, so you can be sure you're getting the best price out there.

So what are you waiting for? Sign up now and get started with your Missouri Driver Ed course!

Back to Top


Frequently Asked Questions

Register Now

Missouri Driver Education

We have made every attempt to answer the most commonly asked Missouri Driver Education course questions. Please call, email or Live Chat us if your question is not here.

Questions

What is the online Missouri Driver Education course? Who should take this course?

The Missouri Driver Education course is designed primarily to teach new drivers how to be safe on the roadway and reduce their chances of being in a collision. In this course, you'll learn how to assess and preemptively react to risks while driving in order to keep yourself and other roadway users safe. In addition, you'll learn how to drive in adverse conditions (such as during rain, snow, or fog), how to take care of your vehicle, and what to do in driving emergencies.

Our course is also a great resource for those preparing to take their road sign recognition or written tests in order to qualify for their instruction permit or driver license, because we cover road signs and Missouri traffic laws in great detail. We also include with our course free practice exams to help you prepare for these tests.

Occasionally, we also have older licensed drivers take our course to brush up on traffic laws and safe driving techniques. Drivers of all ages are welcome to take our course!

How does the Missouri Driver Education course work?

Our course is simple and easy to complete! Just follow these three steps:

Step 1: Register. Click on any of the orange "Register Now" buttons that you see on this page. You'll fill out your contact information, read some information on the course, and make payment. That's it! You're ready to get started.

Step 2: Complete the Course. Our course consists of 10 lessons full of information on road signs, traffic laws and defensive driving techniques. Each lesson contains videos, animations and games to make the material easy to digest and retain. You can complete each lesson at your own pace - there are no lesson timers. We save your place every time you log out, so when you come back, we can take you right back to where you last left off. Plus, our course can be taken on any device with an internet connection--mobile, tablet or desktop. Feel free to take the course with you on the go!

After each lesson is a 5-question quiz. You must get at least 4 questions correct to pass the quiz and proceed to the next lesson. There is a 20-question multiple-choice final exam at the end of the course. You must answer at least 16 correct to pass. We offer unlimited retakes on the lesson quizzes and final exam, so you can retake them until you pass at no extra charge.

Step 3: Get Your Certificate of Completion. When you pass the final exam, we will immediately email you your Certificate of Completion. You can also print a copy from your account.

What happens if I fail a lesson quiz or the final exam?

We offer unlimited retakes on the lesson quizzes and final exam, so you can retake them until you pass at no extra charge.

How do I get my Certificate of Completion?

We will email you your Certificate of Completion once you pass the final exam. You can also print a copy from your account.

How much does the course cost?

The price of the course is $49.95.

You may pay by one of the following methods:

  1. Credit card online
  2. Credit card by phone
  3. Check by mail

Back to Top