Ready to get your Florida Learner's License so you can get on the road? We know you are, and we're here to help you do just that. The permit test, also known as the Class E Knowledge Exam, is an exam on
road signs and traffic laws that you must pass to qualify for your Learner's License or your Class E Driver's License in Florida. If you're at least 14 years and 6 months old and under the age of 18, you can skip the hassle of taking the
permit test at the Florida driver license agency and take it online instead. That means you can take the exam from the comfort of your own home or wherever you have an internet connection.
How It Works
The Florida Permit Test Online consists of three easy steps:
Step One: Register and Pay
To get started, simply create a username and password, fill out your contact information, and supply ONE of the following unique identifiers:
- Last five digits of your Social Security Number
- Alien registration number
- Admissions number
- Florida ID card number
After creating your account, you can make payment. The permit test costs
Remember, you must be at least 14 years and 6 months old and under 18 years old to take the permit test online.
Step Two: Pass the Exam
The Florida Permit Test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions on road signs and traffic laws. You must answer 40 questions correctly to pass.
Each question is immediately graded as soon as you select an answer, so you will know right away if you got a question correct or incorrect. You should study the Florida Driver License Handbook to help you prepare for the test. You can view the Florida Driver License Handbook here.
Once you answer 40 questions correctly, you have passed the exam and the exam will end. You have 60 minutes to complete the exam.
The State of Florida requires that you answer validation questions (also known as "personal security questions") during the exam to verify that the person registering for the exam is the person taking the exam. You will fill out answers to the validation questions during registration. An example of a validation question is "What is your favorite color?" You will be asked one validation question after every
five exam questions. You must answer the validation question correctly to proceed with the exam. If you answer the validation question incorrectly, you will automatically fail the exam. This is a requirement mandated by the State of Florida.
The Florida driver license agency requires that you remain active in the permit test while you’re taking it and that you don’t navigate away from the test to outside webpages. If you are inactive in the permit test for 15 minutes, you will see an inactivity alert notifying you that you have been inactive and asking you to click “OK” to resume the test. If you do not click “OK” within 60 seconds of seeing the alert, the exam will be terminated and counted as a failed attempt.
The State of Florida allows you 3 attempts to pass the Florida Permit Test online. If you fail the test a third time, you will be required to retake the exam at a local Florida driver license agency office. Don't worry, we're confident you'll pass!
Please note that you must pay for each online exam attempt. Unfortunately, the Florida driver license agency charges us for every online exam attempt, which is why you must pay each time you take the exam. Don’t worry! Safe2Drive includes free practice tests to help you prepare, so be sure to study hard!
Your parent or guardian must supervise you as you take the exam. Before you can begin the exam, your parent or guardian must provide their Driver License number and acknowledge that they are proctoring the exam.
Step Three: We Transmit Your Completion Information to the Florida Driver License Agency for You
We automatically transmit your exam completion information to the Florida driver license agency for you. We also provide you with a Receipt of Completion that you can keep for your records.
Students who take the permit test online may be randomly selected for re-examination at the driver license office prior to issuance of your license. You must pass the re-examination to get your license.
Take Your Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course Online, Too!
The Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course is a 4-hour course on traffic laws and alcohol and drug abuse that anyone who has never held a driver license must complete before applying for a Class E or Learner's License in Florida.
If you have not yet taken a TLSAE course, click here for more information or to register for our fun and easy online course. We also provide the option to purchase the TLSAE course and permit test together for a discount.
Click here for more information on the TLSAE and permit test bundle option.
A Quick Guide to Getting Your Florida Learner's License
To qualify for your Florida Learner's License you must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (if you have not completed a TLSAE course yet, click here for more information or to register for a course. We also provide a TLSAE and permit test bundle option for a discount).
- Pass the permit test (also known as the Class E Knowledge exam).
- Pass a vision test.
If you are under age 18 and you are not married, you must have your parent or legal guardian sign your license application in front of the driver license examiner/agent or a notary public. The parent or
legal guardian who signs your application agrees to take responsibility for your driving. If the signer decides to rescind responsibility, your license will be canceled. Married minors must show a certified
marriage certificate. Emancipated minors must show a certified court order.
If you meet the above requirements, fill out a driver license application and visit the Florida driver license agency with your parent if you are under 18 to apply for your Learner's License.
Driving Restrictions: If you are between the ages of 15 and 17 and have a Learner's License, you must adhere to the following driving restrictions:
- You must always drive accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver.
- You must only drive during daylight hours during the first 3 months after earning your Learner's License. After 3 months, you may drive until 10 P.M.
How To Get Your Florida Class E Driver License
To qualify for your Florida Class E Driver License, you must do the following:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (if you have not completed a TLSAE course yet, click here for more information or to register for a course.
We also provide a TLSAE and permit test bundle option for a discounted price).
- You must provide the required identification documents (to find more information regarding the required identification documents, click here).
- You must pass the permit test (also known as the Class E Knowledge exam).
- You must pass a vision test.
- You must pass the Driving Skills exam.
- If you are under age 18, you must also:
- Hold your Learner's License for 12 months or until your 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Have NO moving traffic violation convictions for 12 months from the date your Leaner's License was issued. Or, you may have ONE moving traffic violation (within 12 months of the date your Learner's License was issued) if adjudication is withheld.
- Have a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult 21 years old or older certify that you have had at least 50 hours of driving experience, 10 hours of which must be at night.
- Have a parent or guardian sign the parental consent form.
- Be in compliance with school attendance.
Florida Driving Restrictions: If you are under age 18 and have your Class E Driver License, you face certain driving restrictions depending on your age.
- If you are age 16, you must not drive between 11 P.M. to 6 A.M.
- If you are age 17, you must not drive between 1 A.M. to 5 A.M. unless you are driving to or from work OR you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is age 21 or older.
- Any driver under age 18 who accumulates 6 or more points within a 12-month period is automatically restricted for one year to driving for "Business Purposes ONLY."
We understand you're eager to pass your permit test so that you can earn your Learner's License. That's why we've gone the extra mile to make sure the process is
quick and easy for you. Our registration process is short and sweet, and we offer FREE online practice exams to help you pass the permit test on your first try!
You can take your permit test on a desktop, tablet, or even your cell phone! Once you pass, we report your results to the Florida driver license agency for you! It's as simple as that.
So what are you waiting for? Get started today!
Back to Top